Difference between revisions of "Moving into Maryland"

From MSI Wikipedia
Jump to: navigation, search
(Bringing Guns With You)
(Registering Regulated Firearms)
Line 12: Line 12:
 
== Registering Regulated Firearms ==
 
== Registering Regulated Firearms ==
  
Within 90 days of moving into Maryland, you must complete [[Registration|registration]] with the [[Maryland State Police]] for the following:
+
Within 90 days of moving into Maryland, you must complete [[Registration|registration]] of all [[regulated firearms]] with the [[Maryland State Police]] including:
 
# [[Assault Long Guns]] purchased before 10/1/2013
 
# [[Assault Long Guns]] purchased before 10/1/2013
 
# [[Handguns]]
 
# [[Handguns]]

Revision as of 14:42, 29 August 2015

Moving into Maryland

Bringing Guns With You

If you are moving into Maryland, you may bring your firearms with you, with the following exceptions:

  1. Assault Long Guns (or copies) purchased after 9/30/2013
  2. Copycat Weapons purchased after 9/30/2013
  3. Assault Pistols that were not registered with the Maryland State Police before June 1, 1994.

Those exceptions are unlawful to possess in Maryland.

Registering Regulated Firearms

Within 90 days of moving into Maryland, you must complete registration of all regulated firearms with the Maryland State Police including:

  1. Assault Long Guns purchased before 10/1/2013
  2. Handguns

National Firearms Act (NFA) Items

You must register your machine guns with the Maryland State Police within 24 hours of moving into the state.

Before moving a short-barreled rifle, short-barreled shotgun, destructive device, or machine gun into the state a Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (BATF) Form 5320.20 must be completed. This is a National Firearms Act requirement.